Writing More Gooder

by

I am not a writer… What I mean is, I don’t write well.  David often corrects my posts after I post them (thank you David).  Sometimes I have really great thoughts but when I put them to paper they suffer from, ummm, grammar issues and such.

OK. So what? Well, I want to better myself in this area. I really do! There are a couple sites I have come across that may help in this endeavor.

First, Mark Horne, a well written blog, linked to this site, containing well written articles and essays. The essay I linked to is from George Orwell, author of 1984 and Animal Farm. Here is a short quote from that essay:

But if thought corrupts language, language can also corrupt thought. A bad usage can spread by tradition and imitation, even among people who should and do know better. The debased language that I have been discussing is in some ways very convenient. Phrases like a not unjustifiable assumption, leaves much to be desired, would serve no good purpose, a consideration which we should do well to bear in mind, are a continuous temptation, a packet of aspirins always at one’s elbow. Look back through this essay, and for certain you will find that I have again and again committed the very faults I am protesting against. By this morning’s post I have received a pamphlet dealing with conditions in Germany. The author tells me that he ‘felt impelled’ to write it. I open it at random, and here is almost the first sentence that I see: ‘(The Allies) have an opportunity not only of achieving a radical transformation of Germany’s social and political structure in such a way as to avoid a nationalistic reaction in Germany itself, but at the same time of laying the foundations of a co-operative and unified Europe.’ You see, he ‘feels impelled’ to write – feels, presumably, that he has something new to say – and yet his words, like cavalry horses answering the bugle, group themselves automatically into the familiar dreary pattern. This invasion of one’s mind by ready-made phrases (lay the foundations, achieve a radical transformation) can only be prevented if one is constantly on guard against them, and every such phrase anaesthetizes a portion of one’s brain.

I wish I could write like that. I am sure there many who stand in agreement.

al sends

Leave a Reply

