Glorious Mystery

by

The cross is filled with glorious mystery. On the cross the Eternal God came to the end of His life. The sovereign was subjected to those He rules. The Infinite Source of Life died. The Ruler of creation was ruled by death. The Sinless One became sin. The Delight of the Father became the object of the Father’s wrath. “Though He was rich, yet for your sakes He became poor, that you through His poverty might become rich.”

We delight in that glorious mystery, the immense paradox, the profound wonder of the gospel, that is the death of the LJC.

And likewise Christ in us is a glorious mystery. “I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” “Always carrying about in the body the dying of the Lord Jesus, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our body. For we who live are always delivered to death for Jesus’ sake, that the life of Jesus also may be manifested in our mortal flesh.” We are a walking death in the life of Christ, and we live because He died. The only way our lives make sense is to see our living as dying for Him daily. What astonishing mystery!

And when we come to His table, we savor the sweet fragrance of paradox and mystery once more. “This is My body which is broken for you.” “This cup is the new covenant in My blood.” “Whoever eats My flesh and drinks My blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day. For My flesh is food indeed, and My blood is drink indeed. He who eats My flesh and drinks My blood abides in Me, and I in him.”

We abide in Christ. We abide in the power of His cross. We die to ourselves so that we may live in Him. We abide in the wonder and mystery of His cross here at His table. Let us take up the bread and cup believing and savoring all that He is for us and in us. Let us look to Him, who is our Help and our Life and our Peace and our Strength and our Sacrificial Lamb.

Come, let us taste and see that the Lord is good.

Leave a Reply

