A Sweet and Satisfying Savior

by

In Psalm 81 the Lord remembers the sins of Israel and calls the nation to repentance. The Lord recounts the words He gave Israel that called them to covenant faithfulness. He said to His people:

Hear, O My people, and I will admonish you!
O Israel, if you will listen to Me!
There shall be no foreign god among you;
Nor shall you worship any foreign god.
I am the LORD your God,
Who brought you out of the land of Egypt;
Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it. (vv. 8-10)

The Psalm goes on from there to show the ways Israel failed to worship God alone, and so the Lord laments Israel’s hardhearted refusal to submit to Him and love Him.

Verses 13-16 say,

Oh, that My people would listen to Me,
That Israel would walk in My ways!
I would soon subdue their enemies,
And turn My hand against their adversaries.
The haters of the LORD would pretend submission to Him,
But their fate would endure forever.
He would have fed them also with the finest of wheat;
And with honey from the rock I would have satisfied you.

I don’t read these verses as a warning to frighten you into repentance. I read them so that I can highlight the way the Lord makes promises to Israel. In v. 10 the Lord says, “I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt;” and then He promises, “Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.” And in v. 16 the Lord says that “He would have fed them also with the finest of wheat; and with honey from the rock I would have satisfied you.”

The Lord knew Israel was prone to wander. What would prevent that wandering? What would prevent that idolatry that was so destructive and brought covenant cursing? The God of redemption, the God who delivered Israel, promised to feed Israel and thus to sustain her and establish her and cause her to stand in faithfulness.

“Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.” “With honey from the rock I would have satisfied you.” It is God’s grace that wins our hearts and expels inferior affections so that we cleave to the Lord alone and reject sin and idolatry. The Lord promises to fill our mouths and satisfy us with honey from a rock so that we will find sin distasteful and overcome temptation and cleave to Him in loyalty and covenant faithfulness.

What is that food that the Lord fills our mouths with and satisfies us with? It is Christ Himself. He is the true food and the true drink, and those who eat Him and drink Him by faith find Him to be a sweet and satisfying Savior.

He is our food that fills our mouths. He is the honey from the rock. And He is offered to you here in this communion meal by faith. You receive Him by the Spirit and are strengthened in Him by faith. Come, receive the food of God that fills your mouth and satisfies you. Come, feed on Christ by faith.

Come, taste and see that the Lord is good.

One Response to “A Sweet and Satisfying Savior”

  1. centuri0n Says:

    I’m trying to figure out, Al, why you have such a low Techorati authority score …

Leave a Reply

