Picking Up The Slack

by

Okay! You saw me give David a chance didn’t you? ‘Be the hero,’ I said; ‘save us from banality,’ I said. Alas, it is left to me to change my way and way of the blog…

In my devotions in the AM, when I get to work, I often use this little gem from Crossway Bibles, publishers of the ESV: “Daily Light on the Daily Path.” It is often edifying and gets me to open my Bible, which is a good thing.

The format is interesting. It takes various biblical texts and strings them together. Often this is called “stringing pearls.” It has the advantage of pointing you various texts in the Bible that may cover the same theme. It has the disadvantage of pulling texts out of context. But, again, it makes one go to the Bible and that is a good thing – – right?

The reason I write all of that is to point you to one passage in today’s ‘Light.’ Here is one section of the Bible that publishers quoted:

Is 43:25-26 “I, I am he
who blots out your transgressions for my own sake,
and I will not remember your sins.
26Put me in remembrance; let us argue together;

Lovely verses but what is the context?

Is 43:22“Yet you did not call upon me, O Jacob;
but you have been weary of me, O Israel!
23 You have not brought me your sheep for burnt offerings,
or honored me with your sacrifices.
I have not burdened you with offerings,
or wearied you with frankincense.
24You have not bought me sweet cane with money,
or satisfied me with the fat of your sacrifices.
But you have burdened me with your sins;
you have wearied me with your iniquities.
25“I, I am he
who blots out your transgressions for my own sake,
and I will not remember your sins.
26Put me in remembrance; let us argue together;
set forth your case, that you may be proved right.
27 Your first father sinned,
and your mediators transgressed against me.
28Therefore I will profane the princes of the sanctuary,
and deliver Jacob to utter destruction
and Israel to reviling.

It is not simply a promise. It is a statement of truth to be sure, but in this context it is more judgment upon Israel. Here is the gracious God, the One True God, who blots out iniquity for His own sake and these stiff-necked people weary Him with their sins.

These verses form a great truth, but they are not some sort of blank check, which a believer might use to deplete the storehouse of grace. To presume upon God, whom we know to be gracious and longsuffering toward us, is foolish and may cost more than we ever imagined…

28Therefore I will profane the princes of the sanctuary,
and deliver Jacob to utter destruction
and Israel to reviling.

al sends

Leave a Reply

