The Good – The Bad – The Skanky

by

If one did not posses the sure promises of God the reader of these stories could easily be tossed to and fro (not that anyone uses the word fro anymore):

The Good.  This machine can take a complete picture of your heart in two beats.  Watch the video embeded into the article.  Remarkable.

The Bad.  Patrick J. Buchanan is predicting the end of America.  He does so in a new book:  Day of Reckoning: How Hubris, Ideology, and Greed Are Tearing America Apart.  This may or may not be bad, depending on your country of origin…  For the average American though… 

My goodness I don’t know what we will do if Starbucks has to shut down because the Chinese decide to cash in their I.O.U.s.

The Skanky.   I have been talking about this for some time now, but  Celia Rivenbark has written a book that appears to speak for me.  I do not think her foundation is Christian, let alone Trinitarian, but she puts her finger on the problem no doubt. (click the text below for the whole shebang.)  HT: Mark Horne

… We headed for our favorite department store, ready to take that leap into the world of 7–16. Bye-bye, 4–6X, I thought to myself with a tug of sadness. My baby was growing up.And apparently into a prostitute.“Where are the sevens?” I asked the sixty-something clerk who wore her glasses on a chain just like me.“You’re standing in ’em,” she said.Oh no, I thought, looking around. Oh no, no, no, no, no, no.“There must be some mistake,” I said. “These are, well, slutty-looking. I’m talking about clothes for a little girl in first grade.”

“That’s all we’ve got.”

“But these look like things a hooker would wear!”

She smiled sadly. “You have no idea how many times I hear that every day.

Okay, breathe. This is just some weird marketing experiment. Right?

I went into my second-favorite department store and was invited to peruse the awfulness that is Tweenland! A better name would be Lil Skanks!

Sequins, fringe, neon glitter tank tops with big red lips on them, fishnet sleeves, scary dragon faces lunging from off-the-shoulder T-shirts. Whither the adorable seersucker? The pastel floral short sets? The soft cotton dresses in little-girl colors like lavender, pale pink, periwinkle blue? This stuff practically screamed SYRINGE SOLD SEPARATELY.

al sends

2 Responses to “The Good – The Bad – The Skanky”

  1. thomastwitchell Says:

    The Lil Skank stopped my heart before the second beat and what flashed before my eyes was a picture of the end of America. I think that’s why they call it Black Friday, eh?

  2. Al Says:

    TT,
    I am working to set up an interview with Buchanan and he should be able to give me a good date for the end of America. I doubt it will come on the busiest shopping day of the year though. That would be well, unamerican.

    al sends

Leave a Reply

